Posted by: fionasmosaic | November 5, 2015

Book Giveaway!!!

20151104_093335_resized2

So………I read this book. A delightful, refreshing book. I LOVE decorating books. They give me lots of ideas and inspiration. But THIS BOOK changed my perspective. The idea (behind the great ideas!) is that I’m not decorating my house, I am loving my house, and spreading joy. Taking simple pleasure in the beautiful, and savoring the moments.

Frankly, I think it’s a much better way to go through life.

Decorating is a lot like music………..there is a melody, dynamics, a pulse and a rythym, with a rest here and there. But it it more of a long term process, not a “Boom! Your done!” kind of thing. Melissa basically takes your hand and says it’s OK to not only slow down and ENJOY the process, but remove the expectation that it has to be done overnight. As we are enjoying and LOVING our home, it will always be in a state of change, and there is NOTHING WRONG WITH THAT. THANK YOU! That’s really more of how I roll, so it was nice to have that validated. What a refreshing change.

One of the other predominant ideas Melissa has is that you can buck trends and do what you like. Pick things and colors that you love and let the rooms evolve. Spread your family’s personality around your house, and let it glow.

This book is a little like Alexandra Stoddard meets Lucille Ball. Melissa has a great and humorous way of writing, and pointing out the beautiful moments. It is refreshing, but a lot like she knocked on your door with lattes’ in hand and said, “Hey girl, what do you want to do with this room?”

I have wanted Melissa to write a book for years. She is not only very talented, a New York Times Best Seller, voted the #1 Docorating Blog two years in a row by Better Homes and Gardens, but also a sweet friend of mine. I am so excited for her, and the directions her journey has taken. I am very proud of her.

So leave me a comment either here on my facebook page, or on the blog page, and share this post if you feel so led, and a winner will be chosen randomly from the comments. A winner will be chosen on November the 12th.

So GO FORTH AND COMMENT!! You may just get a lovely free book out of it.

Just sharing the love, and spreading the joy.

Check it out on Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Love-Home-You-Have-Organized/dp/0736963073/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1446660570&sr=1-1&keywords=love+the+home+you+have+by+melissa+michaels

Or Barnes and Noble:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/love-the-home-you-have-melissa-michaels/1120061731?ean=9780736963077

Responses

  1. Sounds like a fun book to read. I like the idea of loving your home and letting it evolve rather than the stress of decorating “correctly”, which I am never able to do any way! LOL

    • Your name is being entered in the drawing!! I’m going to be doing more of these, so if you don’t win this time, have no fear, there will be more opportunities!

  2. Fiona,
    How lovely to find an author took a basic concept and tweaked it until she found her own joyful path. I am reminded of turning on the radio and switching stations until I find a song that touches my heart.

    Why paint if you love wallpaper just because paint is the trend? Why cover a love seat with a plain fabric when warm flowered chintz brings us joy?

    My thoughts return to the library. Other than crafts, medical, gardening and cooking sections, I will not be found in non-fiction. I prefer to be swept away by fiction.

    Relating this to bringing love and joy to our home, why would I force myself to use a color I dislike when I can be swept away with joy and happiness when entering our home by choosing what we like. And just think! I have not as yet read Ms Michaels’ book. Perhaps I will be doubly blessed. I could win the book and learn from the content.

    Thank you for your consideration.
    Blessings,
    Judi Sulfaro

    • Your name is being entered in the drawing!! I’m going to be doing more of these, so if you don’t win this time, have no fear, there will be more opportunities!

  3. Love the idea of decorating as a way of loving your home. And filling it with things that are meaningful not just pulled off of a store shelf!

    • Your name is being entered in the drawing!! I’m going to be doing more of these, so if you don’t win this time, have no fear, there will be more opportunities!


Leave a Reply

Categories

