Posted by: fionasmosaic | June 30, 2012

Napkin Notes

 

The mancub and I-our final edition

Everything kind of came to a screeching halt when I ended up in the hospital in the fall, and everyone pitched in to help. But there were some things that just had to be put on hold.

 

I’m doing great now, still getting my energy back slowly but surely. But really, feeling pretty normal.

 

One thing I discovered (once I was back to doing everything again) is that there were some things I really missed doing. I missed being able to do my barn chores, because I love that it gets me outdoors three times a day (or more). I missed being able to clean. I enjoy cleaning and putting my nest in order. But one of those things that I missed was writing my son a “napkin note” to put in his lunch for school.

 

He is my last one, the caboose, the final edition. He has just recently graduated and the era of writing napkin notes is over.  

Mancub-3 months

 

I have always put notes in the kids lunches, written right onto their napkin to encourage them. I have been doing this for nine years. I figured that when they went off to high school, it was the least I could do since I wasn’t home schooling them anymore. To make them a nice lunch, and throw some encouragement in. That way I could do something to encourage and lift them up since I wasn’t there.

 

Sometimes I write down a scripture, or something funny. Sometimes I write something that we are looking forward to. For example,“Chocolate chip cookies, homework, roaring fire, then we’ll hang out and chill”, or I tell them how proud I am of them. Sometimes I’ll say things like, “Hey I’m going to pray for you while you take your biology test.” It varied according to the need of the moment.

 

A few years ago I was writing more than one a day. I was writing one each for my two daughters. They would read them out loud with their friends at lunchtime. Then some of the other kids started requesting them. There for a while I was writing about five of them a day towards the end of the school year. What a blessing it was to be able to do that. 

The kiddos!

 

It only took a few minutes, but it was something that blessed them. It reminded them that they are special, that we were proud of them, that they could do it, they had back up, and someone would pray.

 

I can hardly believe that the “Napkin Note” era has come to an end. It has been such a pleasure. I would pray over each one, and ask the Lord what sort of a boost I could give the kids for that day.

 

So June has come and gone, and with it graduation. I think I will turn my attention to finding a different way to encourage now. It’s a new season, and time for new things. 

My boy. Not such a boy anymore.

 

But I will miss writing the notes for my boy, the mancub.

Responses

  1. I like the napkin note idea. SOund cool. They could get a message from you while in school when maybe they could use your voice. Nice.

    • Kids can never hear enough encouragement. Thanks for stopping in and saying hi!

  2. Fiona….I did the SAME thing, and my Mom did it for me, I never thought I’d say it but I miss getting up at 6 in the morning and making lunches and a breakfast for champions! Time goes by way too fast and our sweet little toddlers grow up, spread their wings and discover their own paths. This week was a momentus week for me, I said goodbye to my oldest as he packed up and moved to southern CA., and my middle son decided to stay in Eugene for the next year or so, after deciding to come home and go to school here, and my caboose got a job in Eugene a few weeks ago so he’s not even coming home for the summer. Looking back I wished I had savored every chaotic moment more, but I feel blessed for the amazing young men they have become, and look forward to seeing where the Lord will lead their precious lives! Thank you Lord for letting me be a Mom!

    • I prayed for you this week girlie! And prayed for Daniel while he was on his way down. Hard to believe he is even old enough to do that. I keep picturing that darling little blondie! But being their mom was the best thing ever huh Julie? We are blessed.


Leave a Reply

Categories

