Posted by: fionasmosaic | July 20, 2011

Why We Camp

Beautiful Beaver Bay........

 

We just returned home recently from a camping trip. As I was unpacking I asked myself why we go camping, simply for the reason that I thought someone might ask me and I had better know the answer! Some answers are obvious, some I needed to really think about.                  

 

We started going as a family in August of 2000. I think we have gone every year except for one since then. The place we go is quite beautiful, and I think the lure of the mountains, the water, and the forest begins calling us in March or April. We hold out until summer, but by the time we get to go we are SO READY.

 

We spend time in and next to the water, set aside some time to hike, get sunkissed, and spend a lot of time eating and laughing around the fire.

 

We go with dear friends that we have known for years. It’s a great time to catch up. But I think for all of us……..being unplugged from computer, phone, and TV is SO GOOD. We cherish the peace we find there. We have spent a lot of time with God, found deep joy, worked out some issues, ministered to each other’s needs, built memories with our children and some of their friends who have come with us, processed there, made some hard decisions, and even grieved. Beaver Bay holds a very special place in our hearts and the hearts of our children. We are all the richer for having experienced it.

 

There is a lot of preparation and organizing that goes along with camping. So in my next article I will go into the practical stuff that really helps take the stress out of getting ready to go. Like I have said before I was not born organized, so if this helps or inspires someone to mobilize their troops and head out into the great outdoors, I would be thrilled.

 

There are times you just have to get away. I am linking up to A Beach Cottage “Good Life Wednesday”, great befores and afters, flowers, bits and snatches of beauty, taking time out to reconnect to family and the great outdoors! Let’s get back to the good life!

http://www.abeachcottage.com/2011/02/beach-cottage-good-life-wednesdays.html

Go check it out!

Responses

  1. Thanks for sharing and I love the pic!

    • I took several pictures at sunset, and I’m going to post some more in the next “camping” installment. Honestly, I could sit and stare at the lake for hours. It’s so beautful. Thanks for stopping in!

  2. While I didn’t grow up camping each year, my family and I have gone from time to time and I can relate to everything you’re saying! I love any vacation that forces you to ‘unplug’ yourself. It’s the one true way to enjoy the moment and the people you’re sharing it with 🙂

    • When I have asked the kids what some of their favorite memories are of growing up they ALWAYS list camping as one of them. You should do it again sometime Stephanie! Thanks for commenting!

  3. It is funny that when removing the tv, cell phones and computer, you can actually sit back and enjoy the surroundings without a distracted mind. you do feel closer to God. (And no one can call you to interrupt this pleasure!!

    • Amen sister! Sometimes our days are a series of interruptions, so to get outdoors and be away from those, is such a treasure. God bless, and thanks so much for stopping in!

    • I soooooo look forward to the time to get away and have that uninterrupted time with the Lord and my family. And the sound of the water lapping at the shoreline just brings me back to what is important. I could sit there and listen for hours. God bless you dear! You have your hands full.

  4. Lovely post and great photo. It is sometimes nice to disconnect from all the technology and just reconnect with nature. Thanks for sharing at Beach Cottage Good Life Wednesdays.

  5. Oh my goodness Fiona- I have never felt EVER like camping…but no-one has ever really spoken about 10 years of memories to me like that before…
    i’ve always just thought no showers…no hot coffee from my machine…no proper pillows…

    think i’m thinking of the camping of yester year!!!

    yours sounds like an amazing time spent year after year with friends in an equally amazing spot- pickie is gorgeous!!

    melissa x

    • Oh Melissa! I highly recommend it! The place we go has bathrooms, AND hot showers. And we make our hot coffee in the mornings, SOOOOO good in the great outdoors. We also take an air mattress and our pillows, we are so COMFY. I’ll be posting more pictures soon, and my organizing lists. That makes camping SOOO much easier.

      BTW, I went to your site. LOVE IT! My best friend is from Melbourne, and I’m scottish. :o)

      I’m still learning how to do all this blogging stuff. I tried to leave a comment and didn’t do it right. But I think I have it figures out now. YAY!
      God bless!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

