Posted by: fionasmosaic | February 26, 2011

Taming The Paperwork Monster

 

  

 

 We’ve been a bit buried under paperwork…….And I have just had it with paperwork! It is the one thing I hate most in my life. I have been up to my eyeballs in taxes, financial aid, more taxes, insurance papers……I am SO DONE!!

 

In the past I have had a hard time with the paperwork marathon. I don’t sleep well, I don’t eat well, and I don’t do such a hot job of exercising or taking care of myself when I have the “black cloud” of paperwork hanging over me. I have been really trying to change that, and I think I did a much better job of it this year.

 

I did come up with a few ways to cope. There were a couple of things that made it more bearable, so here’s my listy!! Most of you know I am a list person, but it’s totally necessary because I can also be forgetful, and I get very overwhelmed with the big pile of paperwork in February.



LOVE listening to this guy………
  1. Classical Music
  2. Doing my paperwork outdoors (in the gazebo or on the back patio) if the weather is favorable
  3. Doing my paperwork on my bed while watching a Jane Austen movie and cuddled up with the pups (when the weather is NOT favorable)
  4. Doing my paperwork in my library-somehow the old books, and looking out onto the woods and gazebo inspire me
  5. Stopping every half hour and stretching
  6. Lighting a lovely candle                                                                                                            
  7. Hot Tea or Hot Chocolate
  8. A bouquet of flowers
  9. A hot cornbag on the back of my neck

                      

Have to light one of these………
                                                     

                                                                                          

I have to break it up with short term fun (a reward system) with each big section I tackle. Otherwise it’s just endless weeks of no fun, and no end in sight, and I HAVE to stop and recharge. I go have some tea with a friend, or a coffee date, get a pedicure, go to the library and get a movie, a soak in the tub or the hot tub, a walk. Things that don’t take lots of time (like reading a novel) so I can get back to the goal of finishing. What they say about all work and no play is very true…….besides the fact that my relationships are important to me, and those take time.

 

Things that don’t work:

  1. Trying to talk on the phone while I do paperwork-can’t do it…… I get too distracted
  2. Going to a coffee shop-also doesn’t work, I know too many people and live in a small town! So I am constantly interrupted. I now go to the coffee shop when I don’t MIND getting interrupted.

 

But I have survived another paperwork season. Celebrating??? Oh yeah baby! Finally got to take my oldest daughter to THE cupcake place. Heavenly!!!



Yum!!!

Breaking up the hard stuff with ways to make it easier and more pleasant, with rewards, and moments of sanity (moments to smell the roses) really help get you through, and back to what you WANT to do.  And I am linking up to A Beach Cottage “Good Life Wednesday”, let’s get back to the good life!

http://www.abeachcottage.com/2011/02/beach-cottage-good-life-wednesdays.html

Go check it out!

Responses

  1. Oh I hate it too! I have been feeling so out of sorts lately because it is all hanging over my head….business taxes, church paperwork, school financial aid…..bahhhhhh!!! I don’t like any of it. I would love a cupcake though. 🙂

    • Remember when you come down…..I will take you for a cupcake and tea (or coffee or whatever)!

      Don’t give up Melissa!! Hang in there! I have found though that the BEST way to get rid of the black cloud of paperwork is to (now hold on to your hats!) JUST DO IT! In the famous phrase for promotion of a shoe JUST DO IT! Tell everyone your not cooking for three days……just have Jerry go to costco and stock up three dinners. Don’t answer your phone (screen your calls so you can deal with an emergency if you need to) and have a marathon!! The relief at being done is SO GOOD. You can catch up the laundry later while your writing your blog….then devote two days to catch up the house.

      I go through this every spring……

      I’ll be praying for you. Big hugs and God bless!

  2. Loving numbers 3 and 4!

    • Just cannot go wrong with Jane Austen and the pups! OR looking out onto something beautiful to revive you.

      Ahhh…..sweet bliss!

      Thanks for coming and visiting!! God bless!


Leave a Reply

Categories

