Posted by: fionasmosaic | December 10, 2010

My name is Fiona and I’m a………

 

Hi my name is Fiona, and I’m a bookaholic.

 

 

I would rather buy books than just about anything else. Shameful isn’t it? I NEED clothing, I need some shoes, I need a lot of things. But I can put off purchasing that stuff so easily….and then I see a book I want. And it GRABS me! The pictures are so lovely and they inspire me, the price is always good because I haunt used books stores, garage sales, etc and BOOM! It’s on the counter! It’s in the bag! And then I’m trying to find enough room for it at home.

 

Some people sell their books…..but HOW on earth could I sell my FRIENDS? Maybe I should sell the ones that I have absolutely no interest in? But I might need them later, or one of my kids might need them?

 

I am hopeless. I always say I’m not buying any more books til I read all the ones I have…..but that may never happen. And I’m pretty positive that I will buy more books in the future. OK I’m alsolutely positive……..

 

So what am I doing right now??? Filling out my Christmas list of all the books I want!

 

Here are my favorite book links:

http://www.usedbooksearch.co.uk/

 

This one has free shipping:

http://www.bookdepository.co.uk/

 

Like I said, my name is Fiona, and I AM a bookaholic.

Responses

  1. there are worse things to be, fi! you can come to our house and examine our four major bookshelves and three minor ones whenever you want!

    • Oh my goodness!!! I’m so there!! I could vacation for days on end in Powells downtown. LOL I just thank the Lord that D doesn’t seem to mind my weakness.

  2. I could not help but laugh at this… Hubby and I went Christmas shopping yesterday… thought we’d visit Barwon Books, the best used and antiquarian book seller ever…
    I knew it would be dangerous. We found what we wanted but when it was time to pay up and leave I had 3 more books to pay for. Hubby asked who they were for assuming more Christmas Gifts had been bought. I managed a little blush as I admitted they were all for me! Just cannot resist… x De

    • LOLOL Denise I have sooooo been there!!

  3. Oh, we have the same issue here. OVERFLOWING with books!! Your library is gorgeous. my hubby would be SO jealous!!! xoxo & Christmas blessings!

    • The library is one of my favorite rooms in the whole house. There is still much work to do in there, but getting the bookcases done was the biggest hurdle. Our carpenter was a master craftsman, and one of the sweetest people ever. I want to do a whole article on just the library….because he built into the corner the sweetest little sewing corner for me. It is BEAUTIFUL!

      Sending Christmas love to you, Jerry, and the kids. HUGS!!!

  4. Oh dear…we DO have a lot in common lol! You just wait until you break down and buy a Kindle. That’s all you need is another space for storage, eh?

    • My daughter and I have been discussing this. She is quite a writer and a purist at heart. Can’t quite bring herself to consider a kindle or nook (I think it’s called). And since money would be an issue, I can’t even think about it at this point either. We’re what you would call land poor at present, but happy to be so.

      God bless!

  5. I have 5 bookcases full and counting. lol When I moved here I had to buy them cuz in my old house they were all over the place. And these are filled and Im still buying. Bookaholic…….thats me!

    • Standing up and waving proudly!! Bookaholics UNITE! lol

      Nice to see you again!

  6. Not only are all my bookshelves overflowing, I use the stairs to sort out the ones I tell myself I can part with – but it seems more come in than get shared.

    • I’m definitely an addict! lol I always thought it would be cool to have under the stairs bookshelves. Not sure how I would do that here or if I could. I have a hard time parting with books too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

