Posted by: fionasmosaic | November 10, 2010

Perspective- “Thorn in the Flesh” Part One

 

I have an auto-immune disorder. It was discovered in 2004, but I’ve actually had it since 1990. We’ll talk doctors, health, and the insurance industry another time. Needless to say I wrote a tune called “Ode to an HMO-First They Bill You, Then They Kill You”.

 

I decided to write about this because I actually have several friends who also have auto-immune stuff going on. Sometimes we get distracted and focus on the negatives of it.

 

All that being said, I’m actually very grateful. Things could be so much worse, and it has forced me to slow down and take care of myself. But slowing down also causes you to notice some things….and at least for me, I tend to take notice of what it going on right now, in the moment.

 

I have to take medication, every single day. I have to make sure I get adaquate rest, which is sometimes difficult. And when I push too hard for too long (usually it takes a few days), I have to go to bed for a day otherwise I ache all over.

 

But honestly, all of that is not so bad. It’s certainly do-able. And I remember a time (not that long ago) when things were considerably more difficult.

 

So I am full of gratitude!! I’m healthy enough to function pretty well. And as long as I’m careful…..I’m actually pretty normal (no commments from the peanut gallery please!).

 

Sometimes I’m even grateful that I am forced to slow down……what a blessing. I said once before that we sometimes go through this life at a pace that is shameful. So I am grateful for this “thorn in the flesh”, and I will continue to learn as I experience God’s grace in my life.

 

 

 

Responses

  1. many times those thorns are what make life even more beautiful. yes, we’d rather not have them but we get to experience things from a whole new perspective of gratitude!!

    going slow is best…life goes by too fast as it is!

    • Amen Melissa! I think back to a time when I was having a lot of trouble with it, when I couldn’t go on a walk with my kids (among other things). I am so so grateful now for what I CAN do! It has given me a totally different perspective.

      Hugs to you girl!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

