Posted by: fionasmosaic | September 30, 2010

Amish State of Mind-Part Two

 

It was time for some quiet……..

Okey dokey! I took my unplugged time and it was really good, but I could have used a couple more days.

 

What ended up happening is we needed to go to a funeral on Saturday. The funeral was an hour away, and with travel time and then we needed to stop and eat it took us eight and a half hours from start to finish. So the day I had set aside to be at home…….wasn’t.

 

So……….. I am just going to schedule another “Amish” break.

 

 

I did however take some notes on this one so you can get the idea of what one looks like, although this isn’t a REAL accurate portrayal.

 

 

Notes

 

I got to spend some time with my oldest daughter the night before. I took over some groceries and hung out with her for a while. It was good to see her, and she was very excited about her groceries. It cracked me up. She’s very cute.

 

I spent some time with Sweet Hubby before he left. He was helping drum with a worship team for a men’s retreat on that Friday and Saturday, so I was glad I got to hang out with him before he was gone.

A time to refresh………..

 

Then I did some laundry and folded some clothes, the laundry NEEDED to be caught up.

 

After that I took daughter number two out to the cupcake place. We had a lovely visit, and laughed and chatted. Then I took her to her next class, and got her there on time! We had such a great time!

 

Then I headed out to the back patio with my Bible. I have been reading Romans. I went over my retreat notes, and set some goals. The weather was perfect, and it was a lovely peaceful time to reflect and plan, and pray. I didn’t want it to end.

 

I picked up my son from school. I decided that since Sweet Hubby was out of town and my son wanted to see a movie, I would make an exception for the media break and watch a movie with my boy. He and I went and picked it out, then we stopped at the store and got two ice cream bars for us for during the movie. Then we walked around the store and looked at fishing gear and airsoft equipment. He loved showing me everything, and telling me all about it. It was such a great time to just listen and connect with him. He is the quietest of my children, so it was especially important.

 

After we looked at all his sporting gear, he looked at flower bulbs with me, and I picked out a couple of pink lilies that I’m going to plant. YAY!

 

He and I had a great time, we watched our movie and had our ice cream. We prayed together and then he headed off to bed.

 

So the first day of my “Amish” unplugged time was wonderful. I just need more of it. So I am scheduling it in, and I’m even considering doing it regularly. I’m thinking two days every other month would certainly help me keep my sanity.

 

That was one of the goals that I set! I’ll let you know how it goes.

 

So I did get to spend some time with the Lord, I got to spend some quality time with each of my immediate family members, and catch up some laundry. What I needed more of, was more time with the Lord and a chance to bless someone else.

 

But it was still time well spent, and I’m really glad I did it.

It’s time to embrace change.

Responses

  1. how are you!This was a really admirable theme!
    I come from uk, I was fortunate to come cross your Topics in wordpress
    Also I get a lot in your blog really thanks very much i will come every day

    • Thank you so much for the encouragement!! I don’t write every day, but I am trying to write more often. Now that school has begun I am getting into my routine again. It’s one of the redeeming things about the kids heading off to school.

      What part of the UK are you from??
      God Bless!

  2. It sounds so wonderful, sweet and restful. Except for the funeral. xoxo


Leave a Reply

Categories

