Posted by: fionasmosaic | August 24, 2010

Easy Deep Dish Blackberry Pie

 

Easy Deep Dish Blackberry Pie-   

                                                            

 

 

 Here is the long awaited blackberry pie recipe! It took me a while to get it together with the photographs. Our house is in an upheaval with getting the college girls ready to go back to school. But thank goodness due to the very late spring we had, our blackberry season has extended a lot longer than it normally does. In fact we are in prime blackberries right now, and ususally this time of year we are winding down or done with them.

 

I love to go out in the morning and just pick them right into my bowl of cereal. They truly are nature’s candy!

Ingredients:

 

7 cups fresh blackberries

1 ½ cups granulated sugar

¾ cups flour

1 ½ TBSP Lemon Juice

3 tsp Clear Gel (modified corn starch)

2 TBSP Butter

 

 

This is made in a standard pyrex, clear glass, pie plate.

  •  Rinse your berries and let them drain for 10 minutes

 

  • While the berries are draining- sift together in a smaller mixing bowl the sugar, flour, and Clear Gel

  • Put berries in a large mixing bowl and sprinkle them with the lemon juice

 

  • Pour dry mixture of sugar, flour and Clear Gel over the top and gently (don’t smash the berries!) toss the berries with the dry mixture. I use a rubber spatula for this and it works great. The mixture will be very thick.

 

 

  • Let it all sit for 15 minutes- since I multi-task, this is a good time for me to take the dogs out or feed the chickens.

  • Pour it all into a pie crust (when I’m in a hurry I use a pillsbury crust, ready made)

  • Dot with the butter (that means cut the butter into smaller chunks, and scatter it on the filling mixture)

 

  • Top it with another crust

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

 

  • Have some fun with it and make it pretty!

 

  • Pop it into the oven at 450 degrees for 15 minutes

 

  • Then crank it down to 350 for about 40 minutes

  •  
  •  

  • When the top is a nice golden brown, take it out

 

  • Let it sit and cool for at least an hour before eating, preferrably two.

Enjoy!!! With Breyers Vanilla Bean Ice Cream this IS perfection!! There is still lots of time in this blackberry season for pie. With the mild temps it should last at least another 3 weeks or more.

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Beautiful!! Just picked a bunch of berries today — looks like a great recipe 🙂

    • Hi Liz! I was thinking about you this morning when saw you went out for a night ride on the horsie! I bet it was gorgeous out.

      If you have trouble finding the clear gel you can get it at Cash and Carry (United Grocers). It also makes great jam.

      And like you I am trying to squeeze every last bit out of this summer.

  2. Yummy Fi! I don’t know if I can get 7 cups saved up in a bowl before they make it into someone’s mouth. If I do, I will give this a try!

    • Tiff I try to pick OUTSIDE my field so that the goats don’t help themselves! I had almost a full bowl once only to look down and discover Crusher with juice running down his face, and half the bowl gone! I could at least threaten the kids if I needed to with grounding or lack of pie or something. There is no reasoning with a goat!

  3. Looks delicious, Fi! But what is clear gel? I don’t think we have that here.

    • What you want is a restaurant wholesaler. In your neck of the woods I think they go by “Market grocery” or “Cash and Carry”, you can also check under “united grocers”. Or do a search under “modified corn starch”. Hope this helps!


Leave a Reply

Categories

