Posted by: fionasmosaic | December 3, 2010

Gratitude Journal

 

My first Gratitude Journal-love the lilacs!

 

 

During this time of Thanksgiving, the Christmas holidays and taking stock, I thought it only appropriate to write about this and share my heart with you.

 

I read a book years ago called “Simple Abundance” by Sarah Von Breathnach.  As a Christian I had to skip some of the “new agey” stuff in it, but there was some really good things in it. One of the things I took away from it was the idea of a “gratitude” journal.

 

I have a very pretty journal (it’s ALWAYS pretty, that’s key!) and in the evening I write in it the top five things that I am grateful for that day. Once in a while I will just write and write and write………but most of the time, it’s just the top five things.

 

The first thing I write is always something I appreciate about my husband. It helps me keep perspective. Human relationships have ups and downs, and it’s normal and natural. So it’s good and healthy to remind myself of those things that I love and appreciate about him, what a good man he is, and the special reasons I married him.

 

The second thing I always write is something I appreciate about my children, my treasure on earth…….my little herd! LOL I write about how they have blessed me, some character quality or growth that I am grateful to be seeing in them, something funny that was said, or something fun we did together that I enjoyed.

 

Then the last three things are up to me, and it usually has to do with the day I just had.

 

Here’s an example:

 November 25th, 2003-Tuesday

 

  1. David-a wonderful, tender heart
  2. Kids-So quick to take things to the Lord in prayer
  3. An electric blanket
  4. A VERY cuddly cat
  5. The Chronicles of Narnia

 It really is a blessing to do this in the evenings, and it is really wonderful too, to look back and see God’s hand in it all, to see how grace colors each day of my life, and see what spoke to my heart at the time. And when things are difficult, which they often times can be, it helps you keep your perspective and keep your heart grateful. I love going to sleep with a grateful heart.

 

So here’s the challenge, give it a try!! And tell me what you think!

 

Love the message on this one! So encouraging!

My current Gratitude Journal.

Responses

  1. Fiona, I really want to start a gratitude journal..I think I’ll make that my New Year’s resoluting. I didn’t realize you had a blog…very nice!

    • Thanks so much Andrea! I love looking back too, and seeing what I was grateful for at a certain time. It just makes me feel SO blessed. Nice to have you visit me here!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 620 other followers

